Blogging 101 advice, or not

Blogging 101I don’t have to tell most of you how difficult it is to come up with a witty and clever, or relevant blog post on a weekly basis that your followers will consider reading. Most of us lead busy lives. What sites we choose  to visit are fairly routine. You pour your first cup of morning coffee, and boot up your laptop. You log onto the Internet, and immediately head to the same site day after day to find out what happened while you were sleeping. Everyone has their fave news sites, the sites they visit again and again. It’s so much a part of our lives, we don’t even think twice about it.

Blogging is competitive, as is most things in life. To get people to read your blog, you have to come up with interesting topics. Here at my blog, I usually like to feature other writers. But the past few weeks, I’ve been busy trying to get my second Skye Cree novel ready to publish in August. Because of my schedule, I’ve been a little lax in sending out questions for author interviews.

So for now, I’m pulling out a few topics of interest from the past that never made the final cut for several reasons. If you decide to keep reading, it won’t take long to see why. A few months back I contemplated adding a tattoo to the dainty little yellow daisy I have on my right ankle. No, not the one I recently cracked when I fell off the rock. Anyway, I determined the tattoo post was of no interest to anyone other than me because no one really cared whether I got inked or not. In the end, I decided I was too old for the tat route again, and shelved the idea along with the post. You can see why this topic fizzled out. 🙂

Going on to my next brainstorm, I wanted to talk about hair. That’s right hair. You read that correctly, as in the stuff that grows out of your scalp. Or as I considered naming the post at the time: “Why it is NEVER a good idea to chop off your long locks when you’re depressed.” By the way, you shouldn’t do it. If you are ever tempted to cut your hair on a whim, please contact me and I will talk you down. Now most people may know this. But I was in a funk at the time and did it anyway. The day I walked into a salon in October 2011 and sat down in a chair, they didn’t just snip off my hair. No, they took seventy-five percent of my vanity. Okay, maybe eighty-five percent, if I’m being honest. Who knew eighty-five percent of my vanity was tied to my hair? You should never go from long tresses that are way past the shoulders, to a short ‘do. The thing is, the minute I walked out of there that day, I knew I’d made a HUGE mistake. I felt naked without my hair.  I felt people were staring at me. It might’ve been the fact I was bawling my eyes out at the time. 🙂 Don’t get me wrong. Some females look FANTASTIC wearing short hair. My sister is one of those women. But I am NOT.

Now that my hair has made a comeback, I appreciate it SO much more than I lemurdid before I cut  it all off. So much so, that I take awesome care of it now because it was so short and spiky in 2011 and part of 2012 that I’m pretty sure I looked like a lemur. For those of you who haven’t experienced the lemur-look yet, refer to the photo on the immediate right of this post. Even though the eyes are a tad over the top, the hair is right on the money. Yep, that was me in 2011 with short hair.

But you can see why this post failed to make the grade, too. It was  not exactly the kind of earth-shattering news that brings people to read my blog.

Before you decide to quit reading out of boredom, I’m finally getting around to the blogging 101 part. Or as I like to think of it, “10 reasons to stay on topic.” Blogging experts will tell you that if your blog is about books, you should stick to that subject matter and not deviate to post about marital woes and advice, unless of course that happens to be the book you just read and you’re posting your review of said book. That same way of thinking applies if your blog is about health and fitness. In other words, you probably shouldn’t admit to eating four hot fudge sundaes in one sitting. And if you blog about true crime, your followers most likely will not find your post about the detailed account of the chick-flick you and your partner saw over the weekend the least bit fascinating.

Getting my drift yet? Authors are always told to use their blogs to promote themselves. But I’m saying, here and now, I get tired of promoting my own books. That’s why I invite other writers here to talk about their work, to tell my little world of followers all about themselves, along with their take on life or anything they happen to want to discuss and let the world know about them. But when it isn’t possible to get my talented friends here for a show and tell, I resort to try to entertain you myself.

So I quite disagree with those so-called experts who say your blog should maintain a cohesive theme and topic. It’s your blog. You should post whatever  appeals to you. If it happens to be off-topic, so what? Who cares?

The name of this blog is Romance. Darkness. Suspense.  Yes, I know, it’s gone through a couple of name changes already. But again, I was trying out new things until I found one that resonated with me. But does the current name really mean I have to stick to only  those three points of interest? I don’t think so. I hope not. For one thing, there’s so much more to me than promoting myself. I have a variety of interests.

Artists may use several different contexts to express their talents. They draw, paint in oils or watercolors, sculpt, some of them do all of these things. They may prefer landscapes to portraits, but the point is they explore colors and textures. All the time. They should. Musicians do the same with a variety of song types. From slow ballads to hard rock themes, they don’t just stick to one downtrodden song to rehash over and over again. They stretch their talents to see what they can do. So why limit a writer? I tend to think, this is the main reason people shy away from blogging altogether. So from now on stretch your own writing skills. Try something new and different right there on your blog. Use it as an extension of your writing talents. What else is it there for if not for you to experiment?

Sheryl Crow put it far better than I ever could, “If it makes you happy…” Do it!

10 Comments

Filed under Humor, Love is life, Personal Ramblings

10 responses to “Blogging 101 advice, or not

  1. I totally agree with you! I have all sorts of rubbish on my blog LOL It’s about me, and I have a life and interests outside of my writing life. I have funny true life stories, theories on things like dark matter and reincarnation lol Stories about my kids and my grandchildren as well as writing advice, interviews and other promotional book stuff. 🙂

    • Now see, I would love to read your funny, true-life stories and what you had to say about all those other topics. I love to get your take on gardening. As I do my best to grow stuff only to see it wither and die. 🙂 Go for it, Kurt.

      • hahaha!!! Awwww. I’m not that good at gardening. I just stick stuff in and water it LOL I did grow a tree once when I was really little and climbed it when I was an adult. That was pretty cool 🙂 I’ll send you my tree story in an email.

      • Stick stuff in the water? I should be so lucky. 🙂 Got your story. Read the email I sent in reply. No wonder we’re friends. 😛

  2. I agree with you, Vickie. Writers should have the freedom to write about whatever they’re interested in, especially on their own blog. I also think variety on a blog helps writers build more authentic connections with readers and other writers.

    • I do, too, Marny. I would love to read any posts you do on your local area, or about digging in the dirt. 🙂 Articles other than those about books makes it so much easier to connect to people. For example, if I were a better photographer, I’d fill this blog up with photos of starry skies and beautiful sunsets. Or maybe flowers. 🙂

  3. Those are good ideas, and I’d love to see any photos you put up! 🙂

  4. I always enjoy reading your blog. Thanks for the great advice.

  5. Never mess with Hair. Broadway turned the idea of Hair into a trans-generational metaphor for freedom, after all. As for the 101, I must abide by the “Blog More Often”, to which I have been lacking on account of writing other things. I love my blog.

    • LOL Cayman! I know, right? I love that hair is a metaphor for freedom. Yessssss! Sometimes I have to be reminded how long it took me to set up a blog. Because I absolutely LOVE having one!! Thank you for your comment and for stopping by. I love your blog, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

