Something weird happened to me …

While Christmas shopping in December, something weird happened to me. I’m standing in the middle of the mall waiting for a friend to take her turn at sampling a bite of chicken handed out to the masses by a well-known fast food chain when this woman comes up to me and says, “You’re that writer.”

What? My first reaction to those three little words was, “Who me?” It took me by surprise and was so surreal that for several long seconds I had trouble getting my tongue to work properly.1 Fame

Thankfully, by this time my friend had snagged her tooth-picked tidbit of chicken and rejoined me. While I stood there gaping and staring and trying to think of something clever to say, she promptly told the stranger, “Oh yes, Vickie’s written several bestsellers.” I LOVE having such a loyal and steadfast friend.

At this point I should mention that I’m fully aware I’m not remotely close to the same world as a celebrity author. I’m not the least bit famous. Nor am I a reasonable facsimile thereof. I’m not even trying to be. I’m a writer who likes her anonymity. Yes, I want people to buy my work but I’m not exactly well known like Danielle Steel. Nor do I aspire to J.K. Rowling status. That would be incredibly wishful thinking on my part. Anyway, I certainly wouldn’t want people running after me holding cameras and following me around snapping pictures every time I decide to go bolting out the door to the store sans makeup, wearing my Ugg boots with a pair of tattered leggings and a sweatshirt that has seen far better days. No, thank you.

But I must admit that when this woman approached me with a little wonder in her eyes and a touch of awe in her voice, I was flattered. Way flattered. Okay, for a minute there I felt like I might have been walking in Stephanie Meyer’s shoes. Although I might not have known what to do about it at the time, I did recognize that adrenaline rush inside me that came with the kick at being “recognized.” It isn’t the first time it’s happened. (Okay, it was the second time.) And after talking to this local fan of my work, a person from my own backyard, so to speak, I discovered she’d read my entire Pelican Pointe Series and remembered the author photo in the back.

The encounter certainly didn’t last long enough for me. 🙂 But it gave me a very tiny glimpse into what Nora Roberts’ world must be like when she’s out shopping in Boonsboro and mobbed by adoring fans. Along with it came a lesson. Don’t go out in public looking like you need a forever facial, a new hairstylist or wearing your pajamas and fuzzy slippers. You never know who you might bump into.

“Fame means when your computer modem is broken, the repair guy comes out to your house a little faster.” ~ Sandra Bullock

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Humor, Life, Personal Ramblings, Posts, Vickie McKeehan, Writers

2 responses to “Something weird happened to me …

  1. hahaha!!! That is SO awesome! 🙂 It hasn’t happened to me yet 😀 *jealous*

Leave a Reply

