Writing: a slow process

 Slow and steady

George RR Martin @GeorgeRRMartin_  ·  15h 15 hours ago 

Harper Lee is going to publish a sequel after 55 years…

and you people think I write slow.

7,858 Retweets 6,466 Favorites


I found this tweet funnier than anything I’ve seen in a long time. Of course, the original tweeter was George R.R. Martin’s parody account. But I found it hilarious that the real George was one of the thousands who retweeted it. Which shows it pays to have a sense of humor. It seems everyone wants George (the real George) to write his Game of Thrones books faster so that the HBO series won’t run out of material. “Write Faster George” has been a mantra all over the Internet for almost 18 months.

If you’re a writer, whether you write a novel or a blog, if you attempt to set down your thoughts for all to see, you know the feeling of staring at that empty, blank screen and waiting for inspiration. You’re also familiar with the panic that ensues when nothing comes to mind. Nothing. Some people often refer to this phenomenon as “writer’s block.” I don’t believe George suffers from writer’s block at all.

Simply put. Writing takes time. Even when it’s George Martin.

1 GEORGE-RR-MARTIN

When there’s only one person doing the writing it takes months sometimes years to produce a book.

My process is not that difficult. I outline my work ahead of time, plan on what to release and pick a month I want the book to come out. I try to stick with the plan. Because of that it seems like readers have the impression that I can write a book in three months or less. My process isn’t a writing contest like NaNoWriMo. For all those writers who are able to write a novel in a month, my hat is off to you. Way to go! But it doesn’t hold true for me. From outline to release date it takes me at least a year to write  a book.

If I were a writing machine like, say, James Patterson, I could put out tons of  books a year.  But I’m not. I’m just me. And I sympathize with George R.R. Martin who everyone wants to write faster. Books take time.

So I say, George, keep up the good work and take however long you need.


About vickiemckeehan

Author of 22 novels. Lover of books, the ocean, and animals. My website: http://www.vickiemckeehan.com/ If you follow my blog, chances are, I'll follow yours. vickiemckeehan.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Humor, Life, Vickie McKeehan, Writers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing: a slow process

  1. Malla Duncan says:

    Fully agree. Writing is time-consuming. Just wish those who read only would understand the value that goes into the creation – and be willing to pay a fair price!

  2. Another worthy topic for a future post for sure.

Leave a Reply

