Dig in the dirt or find a spot to read

Garden5

 

The weather’s been so wonderful here that I got out yesterday to weed the raised beds in the backyard. But this morning I’m paying for my enthusiastic “workout” with sore muscles I haven’t used in too long. My knees aren’t what they used to be either. So I’m hobbling around like I attempted to climb Mt. Everest instead of doing a little digging in the dirt. Keeping my pug, Beau, out of the mix is darn near impossible. But that’s another story.

For the life of me I can’t figure out why I simply cannot grow rosemary or lavender. I dug up the dead plants and decided to wait until spring to plant more. Sheesh, I guess I’m a sucker for the old adage, “give it one more try.”

I confess here that I get most of my gardening inspiration off Pinterest. And my hubby wishes I’d suddenly lose the DIY board there so I won’t be tempted to drag him into my dream plans. Many of these projects are a little too large even for two people but they are fun to dream about and to wonder how they’d look in that bare corner of the backyard where nothing seems to work. My hope for spring is that I can 1 Outdoor reading areacreate an outdoor reading area. I have the bench, but my trees are nothing like this picture. They just aren’t mature enough yet and I don’t have a cute fence for a backdrop that looks like it jumped out of a pastoral setting.

Which means this arbor bench below might work better anyway. But one look at the how-to instructions and it reminds me that it’s a little ambitious. I mean the materials listed goes on and on. If I want to include my hubby in tackling such a project I’ll need to plan on being extra sweet until March. Who knows? Maybe I’ll just stick my bench out there and leave it at that.

1 Arbor Bench

1 Comment

Filed under Life, Personal Ramblings, Photos, Romance, Summer, Vickie McKeehan, Writers

One response to “Dig in the dirt or find a spot to read

  1. I have a padded swing bench, which makes a lovely place to sit in my backyard.

Leave a Reply

