In memory of my friend

I hope it is true that a man can die and yet not only live in others but give them life, and not only life, but that great consciousness of life.

Jack Kerouac

Rob McKay

Robert Scott McKay

May 10, 1952 – March 30, 2014

It’s been a year and it still hurts. This time last year I lost a dear author friend of mine named Rob McKay to pancreatic cancer.  Rob was one of the first writers I featured here on my blog. I met him at a time when both of us talked about our writing projects at length. He was always there to lend an ear and offer an opinion in a world where sometimes people are not what they seem. Rob was genuine, funny, self-deprecating at times, and always had a kind word.

Rob adored music, especially Kate Bush, and was always willing to share a tune, or two, or three, or four. Well, you get the idea. Music is one of the things that got him through his darkest times. I miss having him to talk to, to email, or to discuss our stories. He loved baseball. And even though he was a native of San Francisco, for some reason, Rob gravitated to the Baltimore Orioles. No kidding. I’m not sure I ever got him to explain why exactly. But with Rob, there had to be a good reason. 🙂

Rob wrote his first and only novel, Unbound, in four volumes. It’s an urban fantasy that encompasses the metaphysical and the occult. Rob was always very proud of his work. After a year’s gone by, I miss his humor, his spirit, and his upbeat attitude. Rob was a warrior till the very end. Know that you are missed.

So, Rob, this is for you, my friend. Wherever you are, I know you’re enjoying the music!

About vickiemckeehan

Author of 22 novels. Lover of books, the ocean, and animals. My website: http://www.vickiemckeehan.com/ If you follow my blog, chances are, I'll follow yours. vickiemckeehan.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Life, Novel, Vickie McKeehan, Writers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

