An Ambien state of mind

“I’ve been all over the world and I’ve never seen a statue of a critic.”
~ Leonard Bernstein

I don’t sleep much, never have. That’s especially true when I’m in the middle of a manuscript. My mind is usually going in seven different directions anyway, let alone when I try to sleep while forging through plot lines. But I must say I do my best thinking when I’m at my most quiet, in the middle of the night, in the darkness and silence. That’s the way it’s always been. In high school when I had a writing assignment, I got it done first in my head. Images come and go, some warm and fuzzy, others, not so much. But I have to “see” the scene in order to nail it. Engaging in the scene often makes for a crazy few months until completion.

There’s a point when the lack of sleep starts taking its toll. I think it’s that way for most writers. When that happens I need a break, of mind, of spirit, of soul, and recognize when it’s time to get away to recharge. Everyone needs downtime. In these waning days of July when the heart longs to travel, I’m going to hike into a forest long enough to do research, trek down a sandy shore I’ve never experienced before to get my creative juices flowing again.

As always, here’s to all of you having a happy, creative August!

Pfeiffer-California-hiking-trail-ak-avenue

About vickiemckeehan

Author of 22 novels. Lover of books, the ocean, and animals. My website: http://www.vickiemckeehan.com/ If you follow my blog, chances are, I'll follow yours. vickiemckeehan.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Big Sur, Books, California, Life, Love is life, Romance, Summer, Summer fun, Vickie McKeehan, Writers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Ambien state of mind

  1. Malla Duncan says:

    I love your quote! I’m taking downtime at the moment because I’m finding a tail-off in ebook interest. But will get back to writing soon. Downtime is great, but writing is better!

  2. Hi, Malla. Yes, I love that quote, too!

Leave a Reply

