Traveling, working, and a broken ankle

In the grand scheme of things it seems the best plans are meant to go sideways. Some even snap, crackle, and pop in the blink of an eye. No one plans for a broken ankle. For that matter, no one wants to think like that. But life intrudes and you deal with it.

WalkingCast

For those who don’t follow me on Facebook, I’ve been MIA because I cracked my ankle. It’s not a hairline fracture but it should heal in due time. After spending hours in the ER with a terrific staff who took great care of me, I made an appointment  to see an orthopedic surgeon who assured me the timeframe getting my cast off is right before Christmas. I’m already anxious for that to happen. My hubby says I don’t make a good patient. He’s probably right. I have to remember to slow down. Hobbling isn’t a choice but a necessity.  Everyone hates crutches. Now I know firsthand the reason. It’s a humbling experience. I’m already looking forward to the day I don’t have to use them at all.

13 Comments

Filed under Blogging, California, Features, Humor, Life, Personal Ramblings, Posts, Vickie McKeehan, Writers

13 responses to “Traveling, working, and a broken ankle

  1. Injuries sometimes helps you to relax and self-introspect. Take rest! Get well soon. 😊

  2. Lori Webermeier

    My sympathies Vickie, 2 years ago right about this time I fell and broke my ankle in 2 places. It took til almost Christmas for mine to heal too. More of an aggravating inconvenience than anything else. Praying for you to heal quickly.

    • Thanks Lori, I need all the help I can get. 🙂 Broken in two places? Did you have PT after the cast came off? Glad you healed from that.

      • Lori Webermeier

        No PT, but it didn’t take too long to get back to normal. I was mostly just apprehensive about doing something to break it again. I got over that too eventually.

  3. Ouch! You poor thing! I broke my ankle when I was a kid falling out of a tree lol Snapped it completely in half! One of the most painful things I ever had. I hope you heal quickly!

    I posted a review for you. That will help cheep you up, I hope:)

    http://geniusborderinginsanity.blogspot.co.uk/2015/08/book-review-bones-of-others-skye-cree.html

  4. Oh, my goodness gracious me! That sounds really difficult. Sending you good thoughts for a full recovery very soon!

  5. Maybe that is the only way to slow you down. LOL Wishing you a speedy recovery.

    sherry @ fundinmental

Leave a Reply

