Beat the heat. Read.

summer-heat

What better way to deal with the triple digits of summer than to stay put and settle back in your easy chair to read. Nothing like getting your hands on an adventure to another realm, a touch of romance, a splash of suspense, or a hard-edge mystery to  get your mind off the August doldrums. Get your beach read on before school starts!

 

 

Advertisements

Lavender Beach is here!

Lavender Beach

Lavender Beach

There is courage in each step, no matter how small

After losing her leg in Iraq it’s been an uphill battle for Eastlyn Parker. When Nick and Cord decide to confront her in Bakersfield, the ex-helicopter pilot reluctantly agrees that starting over in Pelican Pointe might be the only option for her. It won’t be easy though. She has addiction problems that go beyond her low self-esteem.

After a long absence, Cooper Richmond has come back to his childhood home. In an attempt to escape his own painful memories, he’s traveled the world over as a photographer. But no matter where he goes, he’s locked in an emotional void. His approach to life is merely to get along. He does that with his books and his train store.

But when Eastlyn walks into Cooper’s shop, their brief encounter blossoms into attraction. Both are cautious. Both have trust issues. But if these two have the courage to leave behind their baggage once and for all, and set their sights on the future, there may still be hope for a happy ending.

Skye Cree is back!

Now on Sale!

His Garden of BonesHGoB_cover_draft3

Not every flower is grown with love.

Years earlier, teenage girls began to vanish off the streets of Seattle. Now, they’re turning up dead, their mutilated bodies left in prominent locations around the city. Skye Cree suspects there are more. But connecting the sordid crimes will take dedication and skill on the part of her entire team, especially when the killer begins to morph into someone else. Will the hunter be able to stop a psychotic and cruel killer in time to save other victims from the same disturbing fate? Or will the killer find a way to outsmart Skye?

Cover Reveal: His Garden of Bones

Due for release April 10th

His Garden of Bones

A Skye Cree Novel

 

HGoB_cover_draft3

Not all flowers are grown with love.

Years earlier, teenage girls began to vanish off the streets of Seattle. Now, they’re turning up dead, their mutilated bodies left in prominent locations around the city. Skye Cree suspects there are more. But connecting the sordid crimes will take dedication and skill on the part of her entire team, especially when the killer begins to morph into someone else. Will the hunter be able to stop a psychotic and cruel killer in time to save other victims from the same disturbing fate?

Cover designed by artist Jess Johnson

The Bones of Others: New Cover

The new cover for

The Bones of Others

FINAL The Bones of Others

Artist Jess Johnson has been busy. This is her new creation for The Bones of Others. It depicts Skye walking down a shadowy alleyway with a full moon behind her, the scene tinged with rich tones of red.

Writing: a slow process

 Slow and steady

George RR Martin @GeorgeRRMartin_  ·  15h 15 hours ago 

Harper Lee is going to publish a sequel after 55 years…

and you people think I write slow.

7,858 Retweets 6,466 Favorites


I found this tweet funnier than anything I’ve seen in a long time. Of course, the original tweeter was George R.R. Martin’s parody account. But I found it hilarious that the real George was one of the thousands who retweeted it. Which shows it pays to have a sense of humor. It seems everyone wants George (the real George) to write his Game of Thrones books faster so that the HBO series won’t run out of material. “Write Faster George” has been a mantra all over the Internet for almost 18 months.

If you’re a writer, whether you write a novel or a blog, if you attempt to set down your thoughts for all to see, you know the feeling of staring at that empty, blank screen and waiting for inspiration. You’re also familiar with the panic that ensues when nothing comes to mind. Nothing. Some people often refer to this phenomenon as “writer’s block.” I don’t believe George suffers from writer’s block at all.

Simply put. Writing takes time. Even when it’s George Martin.

1 GEORGE-RR-MARTIN

When there’s only one person doing the writing it takes months sometimes years to produce a book.

My process is not that difficult. I outline my work ahead of time, plan on what to release and pick a month I want the book to come out. I try to stick with the plan. Because of that it seems like readers have the impression that I can write a book in three months or less. My process isn’t a writing contest like NaNoWriMo. For all those writers who are able to write a novel in a month, my hat is off to you. Way to go! But it doesn’t hold true for me. From outline to release date it takes me at least a year to write  a book.

If I were a writing machine like, say, James Patterson, I could put out tons of  books a year.  But I’m not. I’m just me. And I sympathize with George R.R. Martin who everyone wants to write faster. Books take time.

So I say, George, keep up the good work and take however long you need.


Halloween is Coming: Night Chill by Jeff Gunhus

Gallery

This gallery contains 2 photos.

Halloween is Coming!! Night Chill A Supernatural Thriller by Jeff Gunhus   In the tradition of Stephen King and Dean Koontz – intended for mature audiences. Jack Tremont moves his family to the quiet mountains of Western Maryland hoping to leave behind … Continue reading