Writer Roe Pope

As the author of a book about dogs, you obviously adore them. But I’m going to ask right off a silly question. What breed of dog would you say best describes you and why? Roe Pope

It’s funny you asked this question. I was recently interviewed on a local radio station by two DJ’s and they asked me what type of dog I thought each of the DJ’s were. I got in a bit of a pickle when I said one was like a Bassett Hound. I think I gave him a complex about having droopy ears. They used that sound bite for their promo’s that week.

For myself, I would probably say that I am a Retriever. I’m very loyal, love to run and when I see something I want I go for it.

I know your beloved Xena Princess Warrior was special to you and inspired you to write your first book, Puppies for Sale, $25.00. You’ve said she inspired you to write other things, so what other projects do you have in the works?

Currently, I am writing a book about my pitbull, Marley and my pug, Joe Joe. I’m kind of making them the current day Mighty Dogs. Pit bulls are so misunderstood. I wanted to make him a hero because they truly can be with the right owners and guidance. I am also working on a true spiritual experience that happened to me when my sister-in-law passed away. This book is exceptionally difficult to write due to the emotions behind it and the power of the event.

I know you do a lot of volunteer work for humane societies, a portion of your book sales go to your local animal shelter so what is the one thing you’d like to remind people about animals, dogs specifically, that are waiting for good homes? Puppies for Sale

Dogs are forever! They are not just for gift giving at the holidays. They want to love you unconditionally and deserve that same respect. They are members of your family that you cannot just discount. If they make a mistake, teach them just as you would your own children. You wouldn’t give your child away just because they wet the bed, so why give your dog away if they make mistakes too? Train, train, train and be patient. The reward of dog ownership goes beyond words. It’s a privilege.

Name one of your all-time favorite books that you’ve been known to read again and again.

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis has always been my favorite book as a child. When the movie came out, I was in heaven. As an adult, of course your Evil Trilogy is so far my favorite that I would read over and over. I am waiting for the movie for that to come out as well. I will camp out to see it if I must. On the animal side, The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein melts my heart.

Oh wow, Roe. I’m honored you’d even mention me. Thank you for that. But really, in that same vein though, what is your all-time favorite movie and why?

The Princess Bride is my all-time favorite movie. I love the characters, the story, the romance, humor, and the sword fight is the best I’ve ever seen. My husband’s response to me when I ask him for something is always, “As you wish”. We discussed getting matching tattoos that say that. Whether we ever will or not is another story.

LOVE The Princess Bride!! Awesome choice! I’ve only watched it about 75 times. And where is your favorite destination for getting away, for spending downtime time away from writing?

I love going to Lake Tahoe. We have a family cabin up there, so occasionally we get to sneak up there for some down time. My next favorite is Santa Cruz. I love the ocean. My daughter loves the boardwalk, so it’s a win-win.

Lake Tahoe and Santa Cruz rock! If you could have dinner with any three people (real or imaginary), who would you choose and why?

Vickie McKeehan-favorite writer

Barry Manilow-(yes, I admit I am a Fanilow) I got to meet him but would love to sit and chat with him.

Bon Jovi-Have loved him since high school and he has grown into such a giving person. In addition, I would get to stare at him from across the table. Big sigh.

Me? Come on now, Roe. Stop that! That is such an awesome thing for you to say, too. We should have lunch together sometime and spend a couple of hours catching up. I agree with you about Manilow and Bon Jovi. There’s something about their music that makes a person feel good. But let’s move on. If you found a bottle on the beach and a genie popped out of it who granted you three wishes, what three things would you wish for?

Health for everyone, wealth-so I can share it and also live on a ranch filled with dogs; Happiness-so I can spread it.

If you were stranded on a deserted island for a year, what are four things you would bring with you that you couldn’t live without? And these are things not people. You’re alone on this island, unlike Gilligan, no professor, no skipper, so you’ll have to entertain yourself for an entire year. What would you bring?

Chapstick-I hate dry lips and since nobody will be around, I can sing so loudly without embarrassment. I love singing.

My dogs of course; they are quite entertaining (They are not people, so this should count)

Lots of paper and pencils to write down my experiences

A year’s supply of chocolate –not so much entertaining, but can’t imagine life without it.

Of course, doggies count. How could they not? If you had a time machine at your disposal, what time period would you set the dial to and why?

That’s tough. As I get older and my own roles change, that question changes. I use to love the 50s just because times were simple, mom’s stayed at home and roles were much defined.

The 60s were exciting with the changing society and the amazing music, but may be too exciting. I think I would say my favorite time period is my 80s. That was the best time of my life. I had great hair and was one of the teen dancers invited to be on a local show in Philly called, Dancin’ on Air and I loved high school. Life seemed simple and fun as I reflect back to that time. I think I just dated myself.

Best. Hair. Ever. In the 80s. So true. What is the one thing you wish you could change about yourself?

As I grow older, I like myself more than when I was younger. I guess that comes with getting comfortable with my own skin. If I could change anything, it would be my patience level. As I get older, that is the one thing I see changing. I need to be more patient with people.

What is the one thing you wish you could do if given the chance?

I already told my husband, when my last child is out of the house and my doggies have gone to the Rainbow Bridge, I am packing up and joining the Red Cross. He is welcome to join me of course. I want to go wherever my help is needed. I’d like to experience that level of giving whether it is in the USA or another country.

That is so cool that you’d want to join the Red Cross, such a worthwhile organization. I can totally see you doing something like that. What do you consider your greatest strength?

I think my greatest strength is my ability to share and help others when needed.

If you knew that this was your last day on Earth, how would you choose to spend it?

I would want to surround myself with my family and friends, sharing a meal, laughing and reflecting on our life together.

What is the wildest thing you have ever done as an adult? Not when you were young, but in say, the past ten years?

I went skydiving. It was amazing, exhilarating, and terrifying

Before we remind everyone where they can find Roe Pope online, I’d like to thank you for stopping by my blog.

Roe’s Website

Amazon

Facebook Puppies For Sales $25.00

Facebook Profile

Goodreads

Roe’s Blog

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Features, Interviews, Promote, Writers

One response to “Writer Roe Pope

  1. Pingback: Writer Roe Pope | Puppies For Sale $25

Leave a Reply

