John Charles Upton Jr. 1956 – 2013

As a writer, I often feature violence in my work. I write about the dark side of humanity, the evil sometimes living within our own walls. But that’s fiction. Late Saturday afternoon I learned about the death of a man I met several years back who had touched so many lives in a remarkable way. John Upton was an Emmy-winning filmmaker who was shot and killed Thursday afternoon in his own yard in Encinitas, California. The police didn’t have to go far to find John’s alleged killer. It seems it was his next door neighbor. John was alledgedly shot because of a dispute over–shrubbery. Yes, you read that correctly. An argument about trimming trees. I do love growing things, that includes my trees, but I’m not going to take out my 9-millimeter pistol and take a human life over plants. I’m not. Break into my house, that’s another matter. But trimming hedges. Uh-uh.

I know we live in a violent and mean world. It isn’t new. In fact, it’s as old as time. I often spend hours doing research where I usually uncover incredibly sadistic and cruel people who inhabit our own neighborhoods and walk down our streets. They do horrible things to others. They often do those things to children. So much so, that I’m inspired to expose that dark side and bring it out into the light. But John Upton’s death is not part of a fictional scene. John’s murder hit home and it hit hard.

What I know about John Upton is that he was a bright, caring, talented individual who took it upon himself in 1990 to rescue kids from their horrible living conditions in Romania. He inspired people to do better.

John Upton will be missed. My heart goes out to his brother and the rest of the Upton family. I share their hearbreak and pain.

If you want to know more about John and the impact he had, take a look at his ABC 20/20 interview I posted from YouTube.

About vickiemckeehan

Author of 22 novels. Lover of books, the ocean, and animals. My website: http://www.vickiemckeehan.com/ If you follow my blog, chances are, I'll follow yours. vickiemckeehan.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Humanity, Hunger. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to John Charles Upton Jr. 1956 – 2013

  1. carriefort29 says:

    This made my heart ache!!
    I can’t believe this. My heart and prayers go out to you and his family!!
    (Hugz)

  2. Ngaire Elder says:

    Bloody awful … man’s inhumanity … disgusting. Thoughts for you,Vickie and John’s family n x

  3. Johnny Upton says:

    He was my Father

    • I’m so very sorry for your loss, Mr. Upton. As I said in my post, my heart truly goes out to you and your family. There isn’t a lot more I can say other than your father was an exceptional individual.

  4. I hated to hear this and why he was killed is so awful. I just can’t believe that anyone can be so cruel and low. Shrubbery.. That would be the last thing to shot anyone over. I don’t believe I could ever shoot anyone unless it was to save the life of someone that I love. I am so sorry for the loss of your dad Johnny and your friend Vickie. It is a horrible world that we are living in when things like this happen.

Leave a Reply

